Home Sports Jackson headlines Nebraska defensive honorees

Jackson headlines Nebraska defensive honorees


Nebraska senior cornerback Lamar Jackson was one of seven Husker defensive players who received honors from the Big Ten Conference Tuesday as the conference announced its all-conference defensive teams.

The conference named Jackson to the second-team All-Big Ten team, selected by both Big Ten coaches and members of the Big Ten media.

This season, Jackson was a star for the Blackshirts, ranking among the national leaders with 12 pass breakups and posting three interceptions as well. He earned 40 tackles, four tackles for loss and a single sack while forcing two fumbles.

Defensive lineman Khalil Davis was also a standout for the Huskers in 2019, and he earned third-team All-Big Ten honors from the Big Ten coaches on Tuesday. Davis was a force at the line of scrimmage in his senior year, posting 12 tackles for loss and eight sacks.

Other Huskers who earned honorable mentions on Tuesday include: nose tackle Darrion Daniels, who was honored by the Big Ten coaches; Mohamed Barry, who received recognition from the Big Ten media as well as junior defensive back Dicaprio Bootle; sophomore defensive back Cam Taylor-Britt and junior defensive end Ben Stille, who was honored with the Huskers’ Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Offensive awards and honors will be announced by the conference on Wednesday, Dec. 3.

The full list of Nebraska defensive honorees and their accolades can be found below:

All-Big Ten Defensive Honorees

Lamar Jackson — Second Team (Media and Coaches)                                              Khalil Davis — Third Team (Coaches), Honorable Mention (Media)                          Darrion Daniels — Honorable Mention (Coaches)                                                  Dicaprio Bootle —  Honorable Mention (Media)                                                  Mohamed Barry — Honorable Mention (Media)                                                          Cam Taylor-Britt — Honorable Mention (Media)                                                          Ben Stille — Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honoree

Zach Markon is in his final year at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, where he will graduate in May 2020 with a Bachelor of Journalism. He is pursuing double majors of both Broadcast Production as well as Sports Media & Communication. Following graduation, he is looking to start his career at a university, producing digital content for an athletic department.