Two former Husker football players are finalists for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Defensive tackle Larry Jacobson and offensive tackle Zach Wiegert are among the 78 finalists from the FBS on the 2021 ballot, it was announced Tuesday. Jacobson is making his third appearance as a finalist. Wiegert is on the ballot for the sixth time.

Both players won the Outland Trophy during their respective careers with Nebraska, a feat which has been accomplished nine times by eight different Huskers. The trophy is presented annually to the best interior lineman in college football.

Jacobson won the Outland Trophy in his senior year in 1971, becoming the first Husker to do so. He helped lead Nebraska to national titles in 1970 and 1971, earning All-Big Eight and first team All-American honors in his last season with the Huskers. 

Wiegert, a three-year starter at right tackle, also won a national title with Nebraska in 1994. He was a consensus All-American and even received a first place Heisman vote, although he ended up finishing tied for ninth. Wiegert had 113 pancake blocks in 1994 and helped lead Nebraska to a nation-leading 340 rushing yards per game.

Quarterback Eric Crouch will become the 19th Nebraska player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame later this year. The announcement for the 2021 class to be inducted into the Hall of Fame will take place early in 2021.